A Letter to My ’10 Year Old Self’

I once read a book where all these different celebrities wrote letters to their ‘16 year old selves.’ They included advice, hints and funny things that had happened to them in the years since they were 16. I myself, have recently turned 16 so it is difficult to try and give myself tips about what my future is going to be like when I haven’t yet lived it. However, I thought that I would write a letter to my ’10 year old self,’ since a lot has changed in the last 6 years.

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life; it goes on.” – Robert Frost

Here it is:

Dear Me,

(I’ve/ You’ve/ We’ve) just turned 16 and am about to finish Year 10. I cannot believe that I am going to be in VCE next year. A lot has happened to you, well I guess me, in the last 6 years. I’m trying to think of what grade I was in when I was 10… Grade 4?! I can’t believe that was 6 years ago! Well me, you have a lot to look forward to over the next 6 years, let’s see… Oh yes! You’re Year 6 concert, your year level dances to the song “Dynamite” by Taio Cruz. Oh dear. Let me tell you this, you may think that this was the coolest thing ever, I can assure you that it so wasn’t. You now look back and cringe at the side pony tail and backwards cap, as well as the baggy three quarter pants and hoody that you thought made you look ‘so hip hop.’ No offense me, but we now know that this just wasn’t our style and we have begrudgingly come to terms with the fact that we cannot dance, especially hip hop.

Year 7. Oh year 7. You don’t realise at the time, but everyone hates year 7s. No one really knows why, but they just do. They are particularly annoying this year as your youngest sister, Flynn, is one. (I know, when did that happen?!) Anyway, Year 7 was an ok year for you, everyone started to get boyfriends as you watched on with glee as people started to have their first kisses on the oval in the middle of the ‘truth or dare’ circle while everybody else stared at them. (I’m proud to admit to you, that your time finally came to stand in the middle of that circle.)

Year 9 came and you moved schools to Melbourne. You were so scared, but you loved it. I’ll admit there were some challenges, especially being in a boarding house. But rest assured, little me, the girl that was particularly mean to you gets expelled! I know you’re probably thinking, whaaat? But don’t worry, you’ll find out soon. You have made a new group of friends who you loooove, and I know this is hard to believe, but you also start to love school too. There are all these subjects that you could only dream of before; Literature, Philosophy and 20th Century History! You go on an amazing holiday with Mum, Dad and the girls to AFRICA! While I was there, I actually thought to myself, ‘If my 10 year old self was in my shoes, she would probably die!’ The years of reading animal fact books and watching documentaries was finally in front of you in real life! I’m happy to report to you that your dream came true!!

Anyway little me, I’d better be going now before I give away too much. There is so much more that has happened, but for the most part, the fun is in the not knowing. I’m excited about what has happened to me in the past, and even more excited about what is going to happen in the future. These are supposed to be the best years of our life, I’m not sure about that, but I think that we’re going to have some fun along the way.

Morgan xxx

Leave a Reply

